These names describe our story

All these are the twelve tribes of Israel. This is what their father said to them as he blessed them, blessing each with the blessing suitable to him. Genesis 49:28

Each of the sons was blessed by Jacob (Israel) before he died.  Genesis 49 is full of prophecies, all very interesting.  Here is a list of the 12 tribes in the order listed in Revelation chapter 7, a bit different than the way they are listed in Genesis 49, along with the meaning of each name:

  • 1. Judah = “I will praise the Lord”
  • 2. Reuben = “He has looked on me”
  • 3. Gad = “Granted good fortune”
  • 4. Asher = “Happy am I”
  • 5. Naphtali = “My wrestling”
  • 6. Manasseh = “Making me to forget”
  • 7. Simeon = “God hears me”
  • 8. Levi = “Joined to me”
  • 9. Issachar = “Purchased Me”
  • 10. Zebulun = “Dwelling”
  • 11. Joseph = “God will add to me”
  • 12. Benjamin = “Son of His right hand”

Now, look what happens when the meaning of the names are combined, in the same order, into a paragraph:

“I will praise the Lord for He has looked on me and granted good fortune. Happy am I because my wrestling God is making me to forget. God hears me and is joined to me. He has purchased me a dwelling. God will add to me the Son of His right hand.”  (A few connecting words are inserted to complete each thought.)
These names describe our story …. struggle, redemption, victory, and marriage to the Lamb.